Flying #532

Coming up on that big moment? It's time to talk with folks who have already flown your bipe type!
jhughes

Flying #532

Post by jhughes »

I am no expert but when I was getting ready to fly the first flight I was looking for all the information i could get so I decided to write down my experience for anyone who comes after. I finished building #532 in October of 2012 and got it inspected on October 12. Now I had to think about flying it. I had flown cubs and super cubs in the early days of my flying career by towing banners and fish spotting in a Citabria. I have about 300 hours of tail dragger time but that was 25 years ago.I spoke with 2 EAA Flight Advisors and they recommended that I get some super cub time and biplane time if i could find it. The only guy i knew who owned a super cub would not be available for a few months so that was out. I went to Hampton NH and rented a J-3 with an instructor for a few hours that included some good crosswind landings. When I had gotten up to speed i went back to Lawrence Mass. and did some taxi tests to check out that the plane tracked straight and the controls and brskes would as they should. I had been advised by several sources to avoid high speed taxi tests as a large per centage of accidents result from them with questionable return. It seemed like good advise. However I noticed with a power setting of about 1500 rpm as i gained speed i seemed to have to hold in a lot of left rudder and the plane seemed to track about 10 degrees nose right.. Then I remember that the stabilizer was adjustable and I put it in the center spot until I got a chance to test it. I went bsavck to the hangar and put in the offset 1 inch to the left and tried it again.It was much better. So much so that the plane lifted off before I realized it. I am not saying the plane would have been uncontrollable with the stab in the other position be it was certainly more comfortible in the off set position. Anyway the flight advisors had told m