Flying performance of various Hatz models

A general discussion area where you can talk about the various flying characteristics of the Hatz and Kelly-D.
DLrocket89

Flying performance of various Hatz models

Post by DLrocket89 »

Hi all,

I'm a 26 year old engineer and am looking to build my first airplane. I'm considering one of the Hatz biplanes.

Can someone describe to me the differences in handling between the 4 Hatz models? I'll be a fairly low time pilot when I do the first flight, probably doing training in a Cessna 140 or a Cub, so I'm interested in anything like "you should be a seasoned taildragger pilot before flying this plane".

Thanks!

Dustin Lobner
Rockford, IL
dougm

Re: Flying performance of various Hatz models

Post by dougm »

Hi Dustin,

I'm far from completing my Hatz and there are others far better suited to answer your question than I, but I would like to clarify (not to split hairs) that there are three (not four) Hatz models. I say that since there are three models for which plans are produced and the design has support.

The models are:
Hatz CB-1 - Plans/support available from the Hatz Biplane Association
Hatz Classic - Plans/support available from Makelan Corp. - www.hatzclassic.com
Hatz Bantam - Plans/support available from www.HatzBantam.com

There are many other Hatz's out there that have taken on there own "model" names, but these are "one of a kind" variants and the builder(s) do not sell plans or support them as a separate model line of Hatz.
Doug
Building Hatz Classic s/n 093 & Rotec R3600
Hatz Webmaster
JBMoore

Post by JBMoore »

Excellent!! Another new "Hatzer".