Kit vs. plans

A forum about all aspects of the construction and maintenance of the Billy Dawson inspired modified Hatz Classic biplane. Here is the place to ask your questions and get the answers from the real experts.
Tony_Fletcher

Kit vs. plans

Post by Tony_Fletcher »

I'm curious to know how many have started with plans vs. the Makelan kit materials.

As a first time builder, I feel the kit may be a better option. Is building from plans too ambitious for a first project?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Tony Fletcher
JBMoore

Re: Kit vs. plans

Post by JBMoore »

I built a LB-1 as a first time'er from plans and did just fine. In either case, you must make a committment of time and resources and be willing to carry it to completion.... an awsome feeling when you get there!!!

Jeff Moore
Jeff Moore
Treasurer-HBA
Pendleton, IN.
dougm

Post by dougm »

I'm building for the first time as well and am going completely from plans. I'm not concerned about it being "too big" as a first time project.

Regarding the "kit"... it is important to understand that there is no "kit" for the Hatz. If you are looking to order premade parts and an instruction manual it isn't going to happen. There are sub-assemblies available that will save you time (Makelan builds many assemblies for the Classic and you could order many of the components pre-built), but no formal kit with step-by-step instructions as in a RV, Glastar, etc..

Besides, there is a great sense of accomplishment in building your own parts. And then there's the ongoing question of time vs. $$$ - Spend $$$ on a component and save time or build a component (save $$$) and take more time??? Decisions, decisions...
Doug
Building Hatz Classic s/n 093 & Rotec R3600
Hatz Webmaster
Ebby

Post by Ebby »